We follow the standards set out by the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) this supports the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years. All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

As well as being the core document for all professionals working in the foundation years, the EYFS framework gives mums and dads confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

What is the EYFS

  • The EYFS framework describes how early years practitioners should work with children and their families to support their development and learning.
  • It is a stage of development from birth to the end of their first year at school (Reception).
  • It is based on four basic principles:
  1. A Unique Child – Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  2. Positive Relationships – Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.
  3. Enabling environment – The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.
  4. Learning and Development – Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected

Each principle applies to all children from birth, and is supported by four commitments that describe how the principles work.  If you want more information on this, please ask your child’s key person.


Children have a right, spelled out in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, to provision which enables them to develop their personalities, talents and abilities irrespective of ethnicity, culture or religion, home language, family background, learning difficulties, disabilities or gender. This guidance helps adults to understand and support each individual child’s development pathway.


The Characteristics of Effective Learning and the prime and specific Areas of Learning and Development are all interconnected.


Playing and exploring •  finding out and exploring •  playing with what they know •  being willing to have a go.

Active learning •  being involved and concentrating •  keeping on trying •  enjoying achieving what they set out to do.

Creating and thinking critically •  having their own ideas •  making links •  choosing ways to do things and finding new ways.


Prime areas of Learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development – Making relationships / Self-confidence and self-awareness / Managing feelings and behaviour
  • Physical Development – Moving and handling / Health and self-care
  • Communication and Language – Listening and attention / Understanding / Speaking


Specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy – Reading / Writing
  • Mathematics – Numbers / Shape, space and measure
  • Understanding the World – People and communities / The world / Technology
  • Expressive Arts and Design – Exploring and using media and materials / Being imaginative

Sourced from www.early-education.org.uk (2012)

Barbara Rose Christian Pre-School also has an eighth area of learning

  • Spiritual Awareness
Please click here to view the Early Years Foundation Stage – Development Matters.